Sunday Quickie

Okay, I teased you with the cover earlier in the week, so here’s a brief extract from Ridden Hard. Jamie, having bluffed his way into the cast of low-budget historical epic, Grail, by claiming he can ride a horse, has just come face to face with the production’s riding instructor, Andrej. Even though Jamie is terrified of what might happen when Andrej discovers he’s lied, that fear is mingled with a healthy dollop of lust at first sight:

He pushed his sleek, shoulder-length black hair back from his face, exposing a broad forehead and high cheekbones. Slate-dark eyes glittered as he eyed us up and down. ‘There are only a couple of things I need to tell you before we begin. Man has a relationship with a horse like that with no other beast. Never underestimate the intelligence of these creatures, or their strength. Treat a horse well and he will be your closest, most loyal ally. Treat him badly and–’ Andrej let out a short, sardonic laugh. ‘Well, all I will say is you will have me to answer to.’

Why did my mind flash to thoughts of Andrej brandishing a riding crop as I grovelled at his feet, promising to do whatever he wished? I wasn’t into any of that kinky master and slave punishment stuff – at least, I didn’t think I was, but the image of Andrej towering over me, powerful and dominant, wouldn’t go away.

So will Jamie have to answer to Andrej? What do you think? Ridden Hard is now available from the Xcite bookshop and All Romance.

Leave a Reply

