Sneak Peek: Mr December

Christmas is drawing ever closer, but what if December was your least favourite time of the year? That’s how Nicki, the heroine of my new seasonal novella, Mr December, feels. Memories of a bad break-up, and an assignment to photograph arrogant but very sexy model Bryce in a remote house on the Cornish coast, do nothing to lift her spirits. But when circumstances conspire to leave the two of them stranded over the holidays, will they be able to deny the attraction they feel for each other?

Here’s an extract:

mrdecember_800Bryce lay on his front on the bed I’d set up in my studio, cupping the point of his chin in one hand. With the other hand, he held a sprig of mistletoe over his head. He’d parted his lips slightly, as if inviting a kiss. The expression in his eyes clearly said ‘come and get me’.

I clicked away with my camera, concentrating only on getting the perfect shot. It wasn’t easy, not when the tension between Bryce and me had been building since the moment he’d walked into the studio. Electricity seemed to crackle in the air, hard to ignore, like lightning on a fine summer’s day.

“Hey, Nicki, put that thing down and come over here,” Bryce drawled. He waved the mistletoe in a clear effort to distract me from my task.

I should tell him to cut it out. We had work to do. But this was the last scenario on my list for the afternoon, and in truth I already had more than enough pictures to send to the photo agency. I had Bryce Anderson naked in front of me, giving me an obvious come-on. Weaker women would have already succumbed to his advances.

I set the camera down, then approached the bed.

“That’s it, sweetheart.” Bryce smiled. “You know what they say about all work and no play…”

He took my fingers in his free hand. Lust rippled through me at the contact. Try as I might, I couldn’t remain immune to his charms.

Bryce gazed at me, his brown eyes dark with desire. Our lips were inches apart. We hovered on the verge of a kiss, and still I held back from committing fully to the moment. He wasn’t so bashful. He pressed his mouth to mine, using his tongue to feather my lips open.

As the kiss grew more intense, Bryce tossed the mistletoe aside. I breathed in the scent of him, expensive cologne mixed with clean male sweat. My eyes were screwed shut and I clung tight around Bryce’s neck, not sure what would happen if I let go.

If you want to find out what happens next, Mr December is available from December 8th from Totally Bound.

 

Leave a Reply

